Conversion Scale

As we implement Proficiency Based Learning throughout the high school and the district, there will be a need to convert between a 100 point scale and a 0 – 4 point scale for a time.

Individual assessments such as tests, quizzes, homework, and projects will be assessed using proficiency scales and a 0-4 point scale.  All classes in the high school will use the conversion scale listed below.

Average Scale Score Across Multiple Standards 100 Point Scale
3.75-4.00 97-100
3.26-3.74 93-96
3.00-3.25 90-92
2.50-2.99 80-89
2.00-2.49 70-79
1.50-1.99 66 – 69 / Inc
1.00-1.49 60 – 65 / Inc
Below 1.00 50-59


It is important to remember when considering overall grades (commonly referred to as omnibus grades) that any attempt to summarize a student’s status across a variety of topics involves decisions regarding where to end one grade designation and where to begin another. There is logic to the system that is quite consistent with the design of the proficiency scale. Namely, the grade of A begins at 3.0 because a score of 3.0 indicates that a student has demonstrated understanding of all content in a target learning goal with no major errors or omissions. This makes some intuitive sense – if the student’s average score indicates that he or she knows everything that was taught for the target learning goals, he or she should receive an A. The B grade range, 2.50 to 2.99, also has an intuitive logic to it. Having an average score within the range implies that across the learning goals addressed in a given grading period, the student typically demonstrated mastery of all the basic content (score 2.0 content) and partial mastery of the score 3.0 content directly taught for the target learning goals.

(Marzano, A Handbook for High Reliability Schools, 94)